Skip to content
Salisbury Counts — Salisbury, in numbers.Local help →

Salisbury · England

People and living standards

Wiltshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Wiltshire

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Wiltshire local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 398,650 in 1991 to 526,392 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Wiltshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 415,836 people in 1996; 526,392 people in 2025. 26.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Wiltshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991398,650
1992403,871
1993407,284
1994410,702
1995414,251
1996415,836
1997418,840
1998422,136
1999425,242
2000428,251
2001433,508
2002438,386
2003442,633
2004445,632
2005448,670
2006453,041
2007458,840
2008464,007
2009466,711
2010470,199
2011474,319
2012476,806
2013479,505
2014484,344
2015488,377
2016492,706
2017497,177
2018498,703
2019502,985
2020507,047
2021513,240
2022515,957
2023519,941
2024524,001
2025526,392
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Wiltshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 84,563 people in 1996; 89,955 people in 2025. 6.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Wiltshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199180,024
199281,407
199382,472
199483,413
199584,177
199684,563
199785,297
199886,105
199987,124
200087,688
200188,654
200289,547
200390,439
200490,873
200590,505
200690,379
200790,283
200890,332
200990,193
201090,522
201191,111
201291,221
201390,445
201490,886
201590,902
201691,613
201792,129
201891,830
201991,890
202091,159
202191,102
202291,428
202391,471
202491,226
202589,955
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Wiltshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 263,787 people in 1996; 312,725 people in 2025. 18.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Wiltshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991254,074
1992257,131
1993258,914
1994260,866
1995263,081
1996263,787
1997265,484
1998267,311
1999268,531
2000270,170
2001273,449
2002276,542
2003278,856
2004280,283
2005282,669
2006286,161
2007290,585
2008293,853
2009294,704
2010295,640
2011296,774
2012295,273
2013295,471
2014296,718
2015298,321
2016299,515
2017301,417
2018301,192
2019302,779
2020305,859
2021309,680
2022309,553
2023310,770
2024312,049
2025312,725
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Wiltshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 67,486 people in 1996; 123,712 people in 2025. 83.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Wiltshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199164,552
199265,333
199365,898
199466,423
199566,993
199667,486
199768,059
199868,720
199969,587
200070,393
200171,405
200272,297
200373,338
200474,476
200575,496
200676,501
200777,972
200879,822
200981,814
201084,037
201186,434
201290,312
201393,589
201496,740
201599,154
2016101,578
2017103,631
2018105,681
2019108,316
2020110,029
2021112,458
2022114,976
2023117,700
2024120,726
2025123,712
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 510,333 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wiltshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh10,8762.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5,7861.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups8,7091.7%
White481,41394.3%
Other ethnic group3,5490.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 470,981 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wiltshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White454,97196.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups5,5681.2%
Asian/Asian British6,1781.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3,2280.7%
Other ethnic group1,0360.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 432,973 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wiltshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White425,98398.4%
Mixed2,8450.7%
Asian/Asian British1,3700.3%
Black/Black British1,1490.3%
Chinese/Other1,6260.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5.5% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Wiltshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,656 per person in 1997; £27,404 per person in 2024. 135.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Wiltshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,656
199811,714
199912,145
200012,919
200113,428
200213,583
200314,071
200414,526
200515,042
200615,699
200716,286
200816,652
200916,631
201016,930
201117,303
201217,611
201318,482
201419,130
201519,960
201620,115
201720,694
201821,711
201922,639
202022,231
202122,934
202224,262
202325,927
202427,404
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Wiltshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 9.9% in 1997; 5.5% in 2024. 4.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Wiltshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19979.9
19988.2
19997.4
20008.5
20018.5
20027.4
20037.9
20047
20057
20067.2
20076.1
20085.7
20093.9
20104.8
20116.2
20124.3
20135.5
20145.8
20154.9
20164.5
20175
20186.4
20197.4
20205.9
20215
20225.7
20236
20245.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

13.6%

21 March 2021 · Wiltshire local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.4%

21 March 2021 · Wiltshire local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.2%

21 March 2021 · Wiltshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£329,000

July 2026 · Wiltshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,082

August 2026 · Wiltshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.